Shari Creates

The Year in Books

Posted on: March 15, 2011

So, I am failing to blog about each book I read on tumblr, but at least I am still keeping track.  I am midway through about five books currently, which are not reflected in the count. I have started reading some ebooks, and there are things I like about the format.  Mind you, I am in no way ready to give up my paper books, nor buy and expensive single use gadget that I then have to pay a substantial amount to add books to, but I don’t hate reading ebooks on my phone.

I’ve finished approximately 11526 pages and a total of 38 books, not including partially read books or digital shorts. I may go two or three days without reading, and then finish two or three books in one day. There are times when I feel like I don’t get enough time to read, and that will just get worse as the weather gets nicer.

Still, it’s good for me to have to interact with the physical world sometimes, I’m sure. I’ve voluntarily traded in some of my book time to spend time at the gym with a couple of friends, and to start learning to speak Italian.  It’s almost time to start my garden, and I’m going to rip the carpet off my staircase and replace it with tile and wood. I have plans to build a headboard, and would really love to build a window seat with more bookcases.  Of course, that’s partially because I have run out of shelf space for all of my books, but also because I have wanted a window seat for as long as I can remember.

After several months of idling, my novels in progress are starting to occupy my thoughts again, too.  Really, I have a lot that seems to be improving, and it seems a small price that I cannot spend quite as much time reading or playing on the internet…  Still, that’s what the rainy days will be for, right?

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
