Shari Creates

Changes

Posted on: May 22, 2010

So, there have been a lot of interesting events happening lately – mostly in the sense of the “May you live in interesting times” curse, sadly.  The biggest of which is a change in my work schedule from second shift to day shift, so now I’ll be working from 7 am to 3 pm.  I am apprehensive about the time change, it has been a very long time since I have had a schedule that went counter to my internal clock, but we’ll see how it goes.

In the spirit of, “hey, everything else is changing, why not?” I joined twitterJenny Crusie & Lucy March are going to start a new project where they watch romcoms and tweet about them, then do a podcast?  Details are still in progress, but I am a huge fan of both, and decided to go ahead and join twitter now so I have a little time to figure it all out.

Also, although I have not yet finished writing the current book (am over 95,000 words now!) I signed up for Lani’s Discovery Class, starting June 6th, and am very excited about that!  She describes it this way:  “The first stage in novel writing is the discovery process, and it is often ignored. You need to plan things that get jettisoned, write scenes that get cut, and rework character and voice to find not only what your book is, but what your process is for this book. This is called discovery, and by allowing yourself this time to really get a hold on your novel without the pressure of having to produce x-number of words or pages in set period of time, your goal is to be able to go into your novel knowing exactly what you want to do, and exactly how you want to get there.” I took her Revision class earlier this year, and it was amazing, so now I am counting the days until class starts!

Also, I have about a third of the garden planted, and am hoping to get the rest planted this weekend.  I am way behind on myFolia updates, but again, hopefully in the next couple of days I will get that caught up as well.  It’s been very rainy, and we were still having frost as of two weeks ago, so it’s not a bad thing that I am a bit further behind than originally planned.

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
