Shari Creates

Sherlock Holmes – The Movie

Posted on: January 25, 2010

I do not go to the theater to watch movies very often, but every now and then something comes along that I really want to see.  Usually, it is something scenic  –  Mamma Mia and My Life in Ruins were two that I decided I needed to see on a big screen.  Sherlock Holmes was one of the first literary detectives I fell in love with reading about (along with Trixie Belden and Encyclopedia Brown – yes, it was that long ago!) and I usually like seeing Robert Downey Jr. acting, so I to drag my mom to the movies on Sunday afternoon.

[Sherlock Holmes at IMDB]  I was not sure what to expect from this movie, since I have not seen any trailers or read any detailed reviews. Lots of people in my writer’s groups have said favorable things, as well as my friend Gabby – and they were all correct. I really enjoyed this movie, especially the way the characters are portrayed.

Robert Downey Jr. plays an earthier Sherlock Holmes – this is not the stuffy, detached Holmes of the past; instead, he is eccentric and physical, brawling and deducing with equal fervor. He is not a cold and detached machine, but a passionate and brilliant man who both alienates and attracts people. I was a little bit thrown initially, but quickly decided that I loved the character.

Jude Law is not a rotund and slightly foolish Doctor Watson, fawning over Holmes – no, this Watson challenges Holmes, is very effective in a brawl, and clearly sees more of Holmes than a hero to trail behind. I found this Doctor Watson a worthy companion for the legendary Holmes, and the interactions between Law and Downey are a delight.

The story was not a simple retelling of one of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s tales, but is darker and more passionate while still being entertaining. I really loved the integration of Rachel McAdams as Irene Adler into the storyline, as well. I liked having women in the storyline that were more essential and dimensional than the ones I remember in the Doyle tales.

If you are expecting a formal British tableau, with strict adherence to the story and characters of Doyle’s original stories you may be disappointed – this is a modernized Sherlock Holmes, brash and boldly reimagined. Holmes is still the master of observing and interpreting small details, with the occasional error of assumption to humanize him.

I highly recommend this movie.

Tags: ,

1 Response to "Sherlock Holmes – The Movie"

Although not a super fan of Sherlock Holmes, I’ve always enjoyed any Holmes I’ve seen on TV or read. Don’t recall ever seeing the detective on the big screen.

This movie sounds like an interesting twist to Doyle’s characters. I’ll plan to see it (sometime).

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
