Shari Creates

Thirteen Things I Love

Posted on: January 1, 2010

I am not a New Year’s resolution sort of person.  A few years ago, the extraordinary Jenny Crusie made an Indulgence list, which I think is brilliant.  However, it is something I will have to think on for a few days, and in the meantime I will do another Thirteen Things list.

I have a webcam, and the only thing I use it for is instant cartoons of me making faces…

1.  Books. Stories.  The Written and Spoken Word.

Not that everyone would have expected this to be on a list of things I love…  But I love having books, losing myself in the stories inside – whether fiction or not.

“Fiction gives us the second chance that life denies us.” – Paul Theroux

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.” G.K. Chesterton

2.  Music.

I am not a musician.  I dabbled with singing some, in a church choir, in junior high school, and later as a singer in a band.  A very blunt friend once assessed my singing voice as non-offensive, which I would have suspected was overly kind if he was not the type to say exactly what he meant.  I loved doing it, though, and sing with the radio.  I have eclectic and scattered taste in music, and tend to get songs stuck in my head for days.  Currently, I am stuck on “Please Don’t Leave Me” by Pink, “Love Story” by Taylor Swift, “Stupid Thing” by Nickel, “Stress” by Jim’s Big Ego, “What Would Happen If We Kissed” by Meredith Brooks, “Peaceful Easy Feeling” by the Eagles, and “Spilled Perfume” by Pam Tillis.  Yes, most of my playlists are insane like that, with no other connection than exists inside my crazy head.

3.  Cooking

If I did not hate seafood, I would seriously consider learning how to cook professionally.  I would love to be able to chop things like a real chef, at the very least.  Maybe I can find a video to show how to learn that?  I learned how to crochet largely from videos found on the internet, after all.  I do not like cleaning up after I cook, however, and only do it when I have to.  Unfortunately, that is most of the time I cook 😦

4.  Movies

Not all movies, and I have been known to go more than a year without setting foot in a theater.  I have a lot of DVDs, and I rewatch some movies over and over again, if I enjoy escaping into the story they tell.  A friend got me hooked on baseball movies, like Bull Durham and A League of Their Own and Field of Dreams, all of which I love – but I do not watch baseball games unless I know someone playing.  I love some movies that everyone tells me are total crap, too, but I don’t care – something in the story works for me, so I have Joe Versus the Volcano, Carrie Two: The Rage, Grease 2, and Ice Pirates in my collection of beloved movies.

5.  Gardening

Growing up, my parents often had labor intensive row gardens, and most of what I remember about them is the endless weeding and the rare pleasure of picking something fresh and eating it standing in the garden.  A few years ago I got a little interested in gardening, and read Mel Bartholomew’s All New Square Foot Gardening, and it was like a light went on inside my head.  Now, I have had two gardens, and am eagerly planning what I will do this coming spring – plus, I moves some of my herbs inside for the winter, so I can have fresh sage, rosemary, oregano, lemon balm, and lemon verbena whenever I want.  Not having much luck with the basil, however.  I have found some really cool ideas online, and will be building a strawberry tower before spring.

6.  Webcomics

Candy at SmartBitches posted a link to Questionable Content back in 2007, and I was instantly enthralled. It’s smart, snarky, and well drawn.  I also love Something Positive, particularly Choo-Choo Bear and Davan.  I crusie through several others, but these two are the ones I look forward to most. I sometimes think I would like to draw a comic…

7.  Painting

I had not painted in years, and my mom really wanted one for the new living room, so this is what I made.  It’s not something I would have necessarily been inspired to create, but I like it, and now am yearning to play on canvas with some of the portraits I have taken in the last several years.

8.  Games

Board games, card games, computer games, whatever.  Although I try not to install much on my computer these days, so that I am more likely to spend time writing and processing images…  I have a Playstation 2, and only three games, but I really like those three games, and they are a nice distraction (Gauntlet, SSX Tricky, and SSX3, if you care…)  I play a lot of computer solitaire while I am stuck for ideas writing, too.  I play board games mostly with my nieces and nephews, things like Apples to Apples, Scattergories, and Clue.  As a family, we play Euchre, Crazy Rummy, and Nertz – of which, our absolute favorite is Nertz. It’s competition team solitaire on speed, and we play until people’s hands are shaking too badly to continue.  In high school, I played Dungeons and Dragons as well as Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and some Palladium RPG and Adventure Quest in college.

9. Cats

Again, not a surprise to anyone who has met me.  There is something to the nature of cats that has always appealed to me.

“I meant,” said Ipslore bitterly, “what is there in this world that truly makes living worth while?” Death thought about it “Cats,” he said eventually, “Cats are Nice.” – Terry Pratchett

10. Bellydance

I am not claiming to have any talent or rhythm at this point, mind you, but I love the movements and the chime of the coins as you sway. I would really like to take a class, but for now I just use videos and hope that I am learning things properly.

11.  Sparklies

By which I do not mean diamonds.  First, I am very easily distracted, and in the movie The Secret of NIMH, Jeremy the Crow was constantly getting distracted by sparkly things, and I am the same way. I love stained glass, and crystal, and semi precious stones polished to a high gloss.  It has come to be a code phrase for anything that distracts me, though.  As a bonus, when I got hooked on Firefly, ‘shiny’ fit right in to my daily vocabulary without a hitch.

12. Walking Ware

I do not own any, but I think it is such fun. Jenny Crusie mentions it in Fast Women, and when I searched for it online, I found it to be delightful.  Seriously, I have considered taking another ceramics class, because I have decided what my garden really needs is several pots that are big versions of Walking Ware and Running Ware.  There is a Flickr photo here of a set, or just type the name into your favorite image search engine.

(Pause to mention that I have figured out how to post some images finally, but if I try for more than two, WordPress wants to put them in a gallery instead of in a post. Otherwise, this would have been a well illustrated post…)

13. Writing

Sure, sometimes I want to scream and throw things. I hate not having a process, and not being able to plot ahead, and never knowing what I will write next.  Sometimes, I resent having a daily goal, and do not want to write at all.  But there are days when I would swear I have no idea sitting down, and the next thing I know I’ve written a couple thousand words and the story has taken off in a really cool direction that I did not anticipate.  I love the feeling that I have accomplished an act of creation, something that did not exist before I sat down and dreamt at the keyboard.  My stated writing goal for December was 20,000 words, and I made it. Now, my work-in-progress is 80,102 words total.  I had hoped to be at the end of the story by the end of the month, but at least I feel as though I am finally headed that way.  I am in a Revision class starting mid January, and would like to be done and have some time away from the story before that.

3 Responses to "Thirteen Things I Love"

It’s cool to see others that know about Nertz. You should definitely check out http://www.playnertz.com/ , the site for the National Nertz Association. There is a bunch of interesting Nertz information, videos, and photos there AND you can play Nertz on-line for free. I recommend it to all Nertz players! So cool. =)

Hi Shari,

A few years ago I made a New Year’s resolution: “This is my last New Year’s Resolution.” I still keep it.

Derby

Hi Nertzfan – I was shocked to find out that people outside my family played that crazy game, and will check out the website, thanks!
Hi Derby- That is the way to do it, I hear. I have not been particularly effective at keeping either resolutions or indulgences…

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
