Shari Creates

A Pretty Good Day

Posted on: December 15, 2009

I had decided on Sunday night that I desperately needed to have one good day.  Sure, there have been good things happening lately, but I have let the unpleasantness of life overwhelm all of the positive bits.  Today, I took off work so I could attend my niece’s school choir holiday program, and I had no other official plans for the day.

The day did not start off well, since I woke up with a headache, but I decided that staying in bed was a perfectly wonderful thing, especially with a headache.  I took some medication, and slept for a while longer.  When I woke up a second time, I still had the headache, but it was better, and I decided to continue to lounge in bed while I started reading a new book.  So far, I am very much enjoying Theodosia and the Serpents of Chaos by R.L LaFevers, a young adult book dedicated “To clever girls everywhere who get tired of feeling like no one’s listening.”  I read to page 108, then decided it was time to get up for a while.

I played online for a few minutes, then searched for recipes to use. I knew I wanted to make Avegolemono, which is Greek Egg-Lemon soup.  Now, this is not the first time I have tried to do this, but we had homemade stock (both chicken and turkey) and I have had a very strong craving lately.  My favorite local Greek restaurant, the Akropolis, makes a wonderful version of this, and I get a bowl almost every time I am there. I have tried it at other Greek restaurants, but I like the Akropolis version best.  Sadly, this continues to be true even after making another batch of my own.  My soup was perfectly decent, if you did not have the mental expectations I did.  I do not believe I added enough egg-lemon mixture, and it never truly thickened.  Still, the soup was tasty.  I also braised butternut squash in good ginger ale, with a little salt, butter, and cinnamon.  Once the squash was tender, I reduced the sauce. This is based on Alton Brown’s Glazed Carrots recipe, and I still like the carrots better.  (It is also truly amazing if you substitute peaches for the carrots, and add cinnamon instead of the other herbs.) I also made a casserole with sliced potatoes, sliced onions, havarti cheese, dill, butter, and salt that was pretty wonderful; however, I ran out of time before the choir performance, and the casserole had to wait until after.

My niece was terrific, and she sang a song with five other kids in sweaters and scarves as well as the whole group numbers.  My dad’s girlfriend, Kathy, brought her a bouquet after the show, and my niece was overjoyed.  All in all, totally worth a night off without pay.

After we got home, I cleaned my Purple Haze baby carrots, and made them Alton Brown style.  The potato casserole turned out very well, and then it was time to clean the kitchen, my least favorite part of cooking.  I watched bits and pieces of Lie to Me as I worked, and saw Penny from Dr. Horrible’s Sing-along Blog was in the episode, and there was singing, which made me happy.

Then it was time to come downstairs and get some writing done – 1008 words, to be exact.  Although I still do not know what happens next, I am writing every day, which is a big accomplishment as far as I am concerned.  I followed that up with a little exercise, and now I know for sure it will take me years to work through the entire Sensual Bellydance DVD. It is fun to do though, and someday I hope I have a work schedule that will allow me to take an actual bellydance class.

Today was pretty low key, and I know a lot of people would find it boring indeed.  Still, I did accomplish my aim, which was to have a good day for a change.  A lot of it was simply accepting what came, and doing the best I could to stay positive.  Like many other people, I have a tendency to dwell on the negative, and to completely discount the good bits.  I am very glad today was different.

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
