Shari Creates

Slogging On

Posted on: December 10, 2009

I am still writing every day, but most days it lacks the joy and excitement of NaNo. I think part of that is because I am trying to bring the story to its end, and no longer just adding whatever fairy tale disaster appeals to me at the keyboard. Not that there is not fairy tale involvement in wrapping the story up… and a sort of robot. Damn it. These are the times I really, really, really wish I was a plotter, and had all of this preplanned. The weather turning colder always makes me more pessimistic too, which is not the frame of mind I want to be in to end a romance novel.
Two of the things that work for many writers to get back into story mind every day are a soundtrack and a collage. The music I have listened to has been almost completely random (except for two Taylor Swift songs – White Horse and Love Story – which are fundamentally contradictory) so I don’t have a soundtrack, and while I think collage is great in theory, I want to make a pretty picture too much to let the girls in the basement run with scissors. I did one collage, and HATED it (for the train wreck) and I kept collecting pictures for this one, but none of them are… essential, and I never put them all together as one image. All of which means that the only way I have to get into my story is to dive in and sink or swim.
Oh, and the quotes that inspire me. Sometimes, I need a motto for the day, which I occasionally post over on Facebook. Here are some of them:

Anne Lamott – “Almost all good writing begins with terrible first efforts. You need to start somewhere. Start by getting something—anything—down on paper.”

Barbara Kingsolver – “Close the door. Write with no one looking over your shoulder. Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer.”

Cynthia Heimel – “When in doubt, make a fool of yourself. There is a microscopically thin line between being brilliantly creative and acting like the most gigantic idiot on earth. So what the hell, leap.”

E.B. White – “Genius is more often found in a cracked pot than in a whole one.”

Edward Albee – “The act of writing is an act of optimism.  You would not take the trouble to do it if you felt it didn’t matter.”

Franklin Delano Roosevelt – “There are many ways of going forward, but only one way of standing still.”

John Jakes – “Be yourself.  Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish.”

Joss Whedon – “Writing is enjoyable and ephemeral. And it is hard work.”

Joyce Carol Oates – “The first draft may be stumbling and exhausting, but the next draft or drafts will be soaring and exhilarating.  Only have faith, the first sentence can’t be written until the last sentence has been written.  Only then do you kjnow where you’ve been going and where you’ve been.  The novel is the affliction for which only the novel is the cure.”

Lani Diane Rich – “Give the reader your flawed self – she will love you for it, because she is flawed too.”

I have more, but that is enough for now.

The act of writing is an act of optimism. You would not take the trouble to do it if you felt it didn’t matter.
1 Response to "Slogging On"

I love the writing quotes, thanks for sharing them Shari. I’m going to have to jot those down and put them up as a constant reminder to keep writing.

Rich

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
