Shari Creates

On the Third Day of NaNo…

Posted on: November 4, 2009

I remembered that I was going to blog about NaNoWriMo, which is probably my favorite time of year. At least, right now it is, when my daily word count output is on target, and I’m making good progress on my novel (yes, the two can be contradictory), and I’m still excited about my story. See, every November a bunch of people sign up on the website (I’m shari13 there) and everyone tries to reach 50,000 words of a novel written in thirty days. Or whatever your personal goal is. And then, I track my progress in a spreadsheet, so I can see at a glance how I’m doing. At least, that’s the theory… This year, I am tracking in two different spreadsheets, because I have yet to decide which one I like the format better on. And I’m tweaking each one, because I always think of statistics I want the answers to that I don’t have available at my fingertips… Anyone who has never met me would think this would mean that I’m organized, mathematical, and a plotter. I am a pantser (as in, ‘fly by the seat of my”) with plotter envy. I really, really wish I could do all my research ahead of time, plan out my scenes, do outlines and beats. I would settle for things like, knowing ahead of time what I’m going to name my main characters, and having any clue what genre the book will be… But really, I should be writing 🙂

NaNoWriMo Word Count: 5084/50000

nano 09 blk participant 120x240

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
