Shari Creates

An Older Book Meme…

Posted on: February 17, 2010

Kimbooktu‘s Meme:

1. Hardcover or paperback, and why?

Paperback, so I can fit more in the space I have. Plus, I like the size in my hands better…

2. If I were to own a book shop I would call it…

The Manhattan Restaurant of the Mind. (No, I don’t care that it’s unoriginal. Bonus points if you recognize the reference! Besides, if I could combine a book shop with a diner, I might reach Nirvana…)

3. My favorite quote from a book (mention the title) is…

Considering how much I love quotes, I’ll just go with a few favorites, and not spend all night contemplating my all-time favorite book quotes.

“If you can’t be a good example, then you’ll just have to serve as a horrible warning.”  Jennifer Crusie, Faking It

“I know some very great writers, writers you love who write beautifully and have made a great deal of money, and not one of them sits down routinely feeling wildly enthusiastic and confident. Not one of them writes elegant first drafts. All right, one of them does, but we do not like her very much. We do not think that she has a rich inner life or that God likes her or can even stand her. (Although when I mentioned this to my priest friend Tom, he said that you can safely assume you’ve created God in your own image when it turns out that God hates all the same people you do.)”  Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

“Without gravity to work with, there can be no dance.” Barbara Sher, It’s Only Too Late If You Don’t Start Now

4. The author (alive or deceased) I would love to have lunch with would be ….

A few years ago, I met Jennifer Crusie, Alesia Holliday / Alyssa Day, Lani Diane Rich / Lucy March, Anne Stuart, Barbara Ferrer, Christine Merrill, and a whole lot of other published and unpublished authors. I would love to have lunch with any of them again.  Also, Robin McKinley, Stephen King, Christopher Moore,  and well, lots and lots of authors really.  Including the ever-amusing and gorgeous Erin O’Brien

5. If I was going to a deserted island and could only bring one book, except from the SAS survival guide, it would be…

The book in the Wolfram & Hart offices in the last season of Angel, where you whisper to the book what you need and it becomes that book.

6. I would love someone to invent a bookish gadget that….

Had a color screen, so I could keep my entire reference collection on it.  Felt like a paperback in my hand, but had a screen that could zoom in when I want to see something bigger.  Had great battery life.  Balanced the initial cost of the gadget with the price to add books – I do not want to pay a couple hundred dollars for a reader, then shell out hardcover book prices for books to read on it.  Allowed you to loan books to your friends.

7. The smell of an old book reminds me of….

Growing up, hiding in the camper in the driveway and reading alone.

8. If I could be the lead character in a book (mention the title), it would be….

Oh, hell. Too many I’d love to be, so I’m just going with Carly from The Fortune Quilt by Lani Diane Rich. God knows I’ve been towered enough, now I want the psychic quilt and amazing painter boyfriend. (And you should go buy this book! Even my mom liked it, and our taste in books is mostly very different.)

9. The most overestimated book of all times is….

Overestimated? Hmmm. I thought Moby Dick was a drag, hated The Awakening, thought LA Banks was a huge letdown after reading Minion, read Twilight and wondered why so many people seem obsessed with it, and completely failed to see why my mom liked Mary Higgins Clark (sorry, really don’t remember which one I read…) But honestly, the occasional wallbanger is a small price to pay for everything I get from the books I buy and love.

10. I hate it when a book….

Is badly copyedited *cough LKH cough*. Has a TSTL heroine (with optional glittery hoo-ha). Has an oversimplified climax – deux ex machina, anyone? Some books I like so much up until the sudden oversimplified ending, that I read them again and quit before the bad ending. (Fairyville by Emma Holly is a little like that.)

1 Response to "An Older Book Meme…"

1. Usually paperback because it is cheaper. Hardcover if it is a classic (or a classic to me). Digital if I want the option to search for keywords and/or phrases.

2. I could name the reference but it would be a spoiler for your other readers. Besides, you haven’t defined the value of the bonus points. I am one of those people who can’t throw ANYTHING away. I already have a small drawer FULL of bonus points from various sources and don’t want to add to them.

3. I don’t get into favorites lists.

4. See 3.

5. See 4.

6. Sound good to me. The Nook allows you to loan a book to a friend. The loan option has serious restrictions, however.

7. See 5 – a variation.

8. See 7.

9. See 8.

10. See 9.

Since my tag above refuses to include my blog URL, I shall include it here. Who knows, maybe one of your other fine readers has a lot of spare time on hand and would like to waste some of it on my stuph. http://www.derbysblog.com

Here is a bonus that does not require any points to collect. The URL to my other blog (this one is political). http://www.deedonsblog.com

I’ll close now before my comment gets longer than your blog article. Don’t you hate it when that happens?

Derby

Leave a Reply

Counter

analyze web stats
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

